Demetri Mariolis Named 2020 OEC Male Character Champion

Demetri Mariolis Named 2020 OEC Male Character Champion

CYPRESS, CA- The Orange Empire Conference (OEC) has named Cypress College men's basketball's, Demetri Mariolis. the recipient of the 2020 Nevco Character Champion Award.

Each year, the OEC names one male and one female student-athlete from each member college to the Nevco Character Champion Team, while naming two top winners of the Nevco Character Championship Award. This award is given to the student-athletes who displays the following values; sportsmanship, respect, caring, fairness, civility, honesty, integrity and responsibility shown through a specific action, ideally directed toward an opponent during competition.

Mariolis recently completed his second season with the Chargers serving as team captain and president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). Demetri explified what it meant to be a leader helping his teammates by all means necessary. As president, Mariolis set up meetings, organized volunteer work for other athletes, and executed various SAAC events throughout. 

On the court Demetri was the starting point guard for the Chargers where he was trusted to run the offense under Coach Alhadeff. Mariolis played his best basketball of the season at the Monterey Peninsula tournament where he was selected to the All-tournament team. He shot 15 of 17 from the three-point line in a three game stretch where he showed off his exceptional three-point range. Coach Alhadeff had this to say about his point guard, "He used his determination, instinct, and intelligence to compete in one of the state's top conferences.

Jacklynn Tran was selected to the OEC character champion team as well. Jacklynn is a person of high character and sacraficed her role for the betterment of the team. Coach Mohr deemed her as a very coachable player who was a role model for the rest of her teammates. Jacklynn will be transferring to California State University Long Beach in the Fall of 2020. 

OEC Character Champion Team:




Cypress College

Demetri Mariolis

Tran Jacklynn

Fullerton College

Brain Martinez

Bryanna Santis

Golden West College

Manuel Auqusto

Sam Andrade

Irvine Valley College

Caleb Grant Humble

Anna Catherine Unke

Orange Coast College

Hunter Dickey

Lualdi Lucrezia

Riverside City College

Gleb Mityurin

Vashti Elias-Romero

Saddleback College

Andrew Carter

Ashley Tiffin

Santa Ana College

Giovanni Barajas-Ramirez

Madelyn Hodge

Santiago Canyon College

Paul Vilela

Amiah Rivas


Stay connected with the Chargers through social media. Follow Cypress College Athletics on Twitter @CypressChargers. Check in with the Chargers on Facebook/CypressChargers and on Instagram @CypressChargers.