Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cameron Davidson and Tanya Carbajal Represent Cypress on the OEC Character Champion Team

Cameron Davidson and Tanya Carbajal Represent Cypress on the OEC Character Champion Team

CYPRESS, CA- Cypress men's water polo star, Cameron Davidson, and Chargers women's basketball leader, Tanya Carbajal, represented Cypress College on the 2021-22 NEVCO Character Champion Team. Davidson and Carbajal have both been excellent examples of character, as they have lead their respective teams over the last three seasons. 

Cameron Davidson was highly regarded as the leader in the pool by Head Coach, Mark Canner. Cameron was named captain for the past three seasons as helped lift a brand new athletics program off the ground floor while propelling them to a winning record. In each of his two full seasons, Davidson scored over 100 goals in both years with 108 in 2019 and 101 in 2021. Cypress improved from a 6-11 record in 2019 to a 12-9 record in 2021. Coach Canner said, "Cameron had the opportunity to transfer to a four year program after his first season at Cypress, but he made it his goal to build the water polo program. Cameron also stayed an extra year through COVID to make sure the team completed the ultimate goal of having a winning record and barely missing out on the SoCal tournament. Cameron was a leader by example in both the weight room and the pool. He lead the water polo program in all aspects and the success of the program moving forward will be because of Cameron Davidson and his contributions as a leader and player." 

Tanya Carbajal was a Cypress Charger for four seasons after she battled two significant injuries. Carbajal's career highlight came in the CCCAA regional playoffs where she made a game winning jump shot to defeat Glendale College. Coach Mohr says, "Tanya has been the ultimate example of perseverance. To overcome all her mishaps and injuries with such grace and determination has been so inspiring to witness this season. All the while Tanya's been a great leader as a team captain and maintaining a cumulative 3.7 GPA. She is modest, selfless, and always willing to help. She competes with the class and is a positive role model for all of us."

The Complete List of 2022 Orange Empire Conference Nominees 

OEC Character Champions: Cedrick Perez (Santa Ana) and Cindy Suarez (Fullerton)

School Male Female
Cypress Cameron Davidson

Tanya Carbajal

Fullerton Chazz Hutchison  
Golden West Felipe Ferreira Emma Mehus
Irvine Valley Tyson Robinson Jr. Katie Nguyen
Orange Coast Dane Howell Journey Werner
Riverside Melvin Walker Molly Jo Watson
Saddleback Patrick Jaksch Nicole Whipple
Santa Ana   Heather Matthews
Santiago Canyon Joshua Maguire Kylee Medi


Stay connected with the Chargers through social media. Follow Cypress College Athletics on Twitter @CypressChargers. Check in with the Chargers on Facebook/CypressChargers and on Instagram @CypressChargers