Cypress College Athletics News

October 6, 2015
Women's Soccer Defeats Norco 3-0
The Cypress College women's soccer (8-2, 4-2) earned a 3-0 win over visiting Norco College (2-8, 0-6) on Tuesday afternoon.

October 2, 2015
Chargers Come Out Strong in Conference Opener
Cypress- Cypress College (10-5, 1-0) opened up their conference run with a victory over the Fullerton College Hornets (5-3, 0-1) on Friday night, winning 3-1 (20-25, 25-20, 25-18, 25-16).

October 2, 2015
Women’s Soccer Captures Shutout Win at Home
Cypress- The Cypress College women’s soccer team (7-2, 3-2) defeated the visiting Irvine Valley Lasers (3-5-1, 1-3-1) in a 6-0 shutout on Friday afternoon.

October 2, 2015
Avila Receives Charger of the Week (Sept. 21-27)
Gissel Avila had an unworldly performance last week for women’s soccer to earn herself Charger of the Week

September 30, 2015
Chargers Hang On In Five Set Thriller
Cypress- Cypress College (9-5) hung on in their home opener against Mt. San Antonio College (5-3) on Wednesday night with a 3-2 victory (25-19, 29-27, 23-25, 22-25, 15-11).

September 29, 2015
Late Rally Spoils Men’s Soccer Home Opener
Cypress- The Cypress College men’s soccer team (2-5-1, 0-1) lost their home opener to Golden West College (5-1-2, 1-0) in the first Orange Empire Conference game of the season on Tuesday afternoon

September 28, 2015
Burke Receives Charger of The Week (September 14-20)
Cypress College Water Polo standout Casey Burke was presented with Charger of the Week honors by the Dean of Physical Education and Athletics, Dr. Richard Rams, at practice on Monday.

September 28, 2015
Chargers San Diego Tournament Run Ends in Semi-Final
San Diego- Cypress College (8-5) went 2-1 in the San Diego City College Tournament this past Saturday, getting eliminated in the semifinals by Glendale College (AZ)

September 25, 2015
Chargers Fall to 0-2 at Home
Cypress Calif.- The Cypress College women’s soccer team (6-2, 2-2) fall to the first place Santiago Canyon Hawks (7-0-1, 4-0) with a final score of 3-1.

September 23, 2015
Gauchos Defeat Chargers in Thriller
Cypress- The Chargers (3-7, 0-2) took a tough loss against Saddleback College (3-3, 1-1) on Wednesday afternoon as the Gauchos came out on top 7-5.

September 23, 2015
Men’s Soccer Dominates Final Non-Conference Game
Palm Desert- The Cypress College men’s soccer team (2-4-1) picked up a big 4-1 victory over Desert (1-6) before heading into Orange Empire Conference play.

September 21, 2015
Chargers Cruise Past Goldenwest 3-0
The Chargers (5-1, 1-1) earned their first Orange Empire Conference win after a 3-0 win over the Goldenwest Rustlers (2-3-1, 0-1-1).

September 18, 2015
No. 5 Women's Soccer Handed First Loss
Cypress Calif.- Women’s Soccer (4-1-0) took a tough 2-0 loss against Saddleback College (5-0-1) putting an end to their unbeaten streak.

September 21, 2015
Men's Soccer Struggles Against Southwestern
Cypress College (1-4-1) struggled to gather themselves on the defensive end as the Chargers took a tough 7-1 loss against the undefeated Southwestern College (6-0-1).

September 14, 2015
Cypress Volleyball Wins Cerritos Tournament Championship
Cerritos Calif.- The Cypress College women’s volleyball team (6-3) earned a 1st place finish at the Cerritos Tournament this past weekend. The Chargers went 4-1 in their five matches at Cerritos College, splitting their two Friday matches (1-1) and winning their remaining three matches on Saturday to bring home the championship.

September 14, 2015
Chargers Put On a Show in First Victory
Men's Soccer earns first win of the season, dominating Moorpark 4-1 on the road.

September 5, 2015
Water Polo: 17th Annual Charger Invitational
Water Polo highlights from the 17th Annual Charger Invitational (9/4-9/5 2015)

September 8, 2015
Women’s Soccer Returns from NorCal Unbeaten
The Cypress College women’s soccer team (4-0) traveled up north on Labor Day Weekend to take on Foothill College and San Francisco City College. The Chargers defeated the Owls 1-0 on Friday afternoon followed by a 2-1 victory over the Rams on Sunday.

September 4, 2015
17th Annual Charger Invitational
Cypress – The Chargers finished the first day of the 17th Annual Cypress Charger Invitational

August 31, 2015
Chargers Finish 3rd at Kickoff Classic
The Chargers (2-2) opened up the women’s volleyball season at the 1st Annual Kickoff Classic hosted by Pierce College, splitting the weekend tournament at two games apiece.